Zeeland Charter Township Zoning Board of Appeals May 25, 2021

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Chairperson Walters

Board Members Present: Rich De Leau, Bruce Knoper, Russ Mudget, Jeff Salisbury, Steve

Walters Absent: Ben Zwagerman, Dirk Pyle

Staff Present: Zoning Administrator Kirk Scharphorn Jr.

Motion to approve the minutes of August 25, 2020: Motion Carried

Chairperson Walters opened the public hearing for Mr. & Mrs. Scott Westhuis. The Westhuis's request a variance at 9506 Ridgecrest Dr. also known as permanent parcel 70-17-30-104-005. The request is to have their accessory building located in their front yard, as defined by Sec. 3.12C and Sec. 6.03A of the Zeeland Charter Township Zoning Ordinance.

The Westhuis's were not aware that their neighbor's driveway to the east was actually a road right away, known as Grove view Drive, which makes their property a corner lot with two front yards for zoning purposes. The neighbor at 9500 Ridgecrest Dr. was given a private easement by the OCRC to build his home through the road right away. There will never be an actual road because of the neighbor's home. At one time the road right away was going to be abandoned, but that process was stopped when the previous owner of 9500 Ridgecrest Dr. realized he would not have access to the parcel if the road right away was abandoned. The property would have been split between the two neighboring parcels.

Citizen Comment – Four neighbors expressed their opposition to the variance and concern over the precedence and aesthetics of the accessory building's location.

Motion made by Walters to close the public hearing. supported by DeLeau.

Motion made by Mudget to deny the variance request, supported by Salisbury for the following reasons: Does not meet all seven of the criteria needed to approve a variance request as dictated in the Zeeland Township Zoning Ordinance.

Motion Carried: Ayes: De Leau, Walters, Knoper, Mudget, Salisbury Absent: Zwagerman, Pyle

Motion to Adjourn. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 8:00 pm

Jeff Salisbury, Secretary Katy Steenwyk, Recording Secretary